Writer Wednesday: Interview with Jon Bradbury

Jon BradburyToday I am pleased to welcome my friend and mentor, Jon Bradbury, for my Writer Wednesday interview.

Jon Bradbury is the author of ten interracial black woman-white man erotic romance e-books including Worst Kept Secret and The Professor, and is busy madly writing more. His other interests include reading, watching Leverage and So You Think You Can Dance on TV, music, the internet and video games. He writes full-time now thanks to the never-ending Great Recession, lives in Reno, Nevada and is permanently single, or so it seems.

 

Please tell us more about yourself, anything you like- interests, background.

Well my background is mostly in Journalism, but I got swept up in to writing novels. LOL I love to cook, read constantly, listen to music, surf the internet, and watch movies and TV.

Please tell us more about the book or books you would like to feature today.

My latest book is titled Sugar Daddy and it’s about a woman who has to sacrifice her pride and do what must be done.

What gave you the idea to write in this genre?

I had done several books in the Interracial category already, but this one, Sugar Daddy, I decided to write for the Chick Lit category.

Is there a theme or message in your work that you would like readers to connect with?

That sometimes there are things which we cannot control, and make us do things we don’t want to do.

Note from Lily: I completely agree with this! You never know what is round the next corner…

What research did you do, and how? Or does it all come from your own imagination?

This book I actually did do a little research, and found out that the Autumn Equinox really did fall on a Friday the year I wrote the story. In fact that gave me the initial idea.

What’s the funniest/weirdest thing you’ve done when doing research for your book?

Oh my gosh, I had to look up what a Brazilian was LOL.

Do you ever base your characters on people you know?

Not this time. I try not to base my characters on people I know but one does get through sometimes. Mostly my characters in my books are inspired by celebrities.

Do you make a plan for your novels, or do you just start writing and see where it goes?

I’m sorry to say that I just write. I’ve tried writing notes and then completely forget I even wrote them. I’m very much an instinctual sort of writer.

Which of your own books/ characters is your favourite and why?

That is a tough question. It’s like asking me to name my favorite child! LOL But seriously, I really like “Midnight Blue.” That story is about a guy who thinks he doesn’t need help but by the end of the story, over comes his pride and gets help. Plus it was the first book I had written action scenes. I was very proud of that book. Having said all that, I really love Leoni in Worst Kept Secret. She’s not perfect, she has flaws. But she recognizes them and deals with it.

What has been the most helpful piece of advice you’ve received as a writer?

This will sound corny but my English teacher in high school told me to “Keep up your excellent writing.” He signed that in my year book and I never forgot that.

What books or other projects do you have coming up in future?

Coming very soon I have a short story that’s all about time travel in an anthology that’s being published by The Masquerade Crew. And I am currently doing the very first and hopefully not the last collaboration of my career with Nichelle Wellesly, author of the Fire series.

Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

Yes, I studied journalism in college. Even if you feel like your background might not be suitable for creative writing, you might be surprised. All you can do is go for it. If you find out you’re not a writer, that’s better than never getting to write at all.

Jon’s new book ‘Sugar Daddy’ is available here: 

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sugar-daddy-jon-bradbury/1114044678?ean=2940045147361

http://amzn.to/1NWOkHv

A short excerpt:

My jealousy and curiosity got the best of me.

“How do you do it, Jacque? I mean, really, you never have a job, yet you always have money. How does that work?”

Instead of answering me directly, Jacque said, “You know what you need?”

“No. What do I need?”

“You need a sugar daddy.” “A what?”

“You heard me. You need a sugar daddy.”

“Oh. I see.”

2 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Interview with Jon Bradbury

Leave a Reply

