Writer Wednesday: Interview with Tricia Drammeh

Today I welcome author Tricia Drammeh to my blog.

Author Bio:

Tricia Drammeh is a wife and mother of four children who lives in New Hampshire. Her published works include The Claiming Words, The Fifth Circle, and The Séance. Tricia is currently working on her seventh novel. When she’s not writing, she can be found devouring books, interviewing up-and-coming authors, and drinking vast amounts of coffee.

Please tell us more about yourself, anything you like- interests, background etc.

First of all, thank you for having me on your blog today, Lily. I’m afraid I don’t have a very exciting background. I’m a wife and a mom of four kids ranging in age from twelve to twenty-three. We recently moved from Missouri to New Hampshire. My background is in accounting, but I’ve always been a book lover, often reading five or more books per week. I didn’t begin writing until my late thirties and now I’m hooked.

Please tell us more about the book or books you would like to feature today.

Darksummonsb1My most recent release is The Séance, a paranormal/horror book for young adults. The main character, Abby, is a girl who is obsessed with the supernatural. She decides to get a couple of friends together to host a séance, but the ceremony goes horribly wrong. She accidentally summons a demon who torments her and conspires to make her life a living hell. But Abby isn’t the only person the demon is after. Abby’s mom is pregnant and unless the demon is vanquished before the baby is born, Abby’s new little brother won’t stand a chance.

Buy The Seance here from Amazon: http://amzn.to/1jpGtHe

What gave you the idea to write in this genre?

Like Abby, I love the paranormal. Unlike Abby, I don’t dabble in things I don’t understand; I prefer to read about it instead. Paranormal is my favorite genre and since I don’t write vampires well (I’ve tried) and I’ve already tackled witches in The Claiming Words, I wanted to write something with ghosts. Once I started writing, I ended up writing about a demon instead of a ghost. It wasn’t really my intent to write horror, but once beta readers started telling me the story was terrifying, I decided I should categorize The Séance as horror.

Is there a theme or message in your work that you would like readers to connect with?

The topic of bullying seems to pop up in all my books. Though it isn’t a central theme, all my main characters have been bullied in some way or another.

What research did you do, and how? Or does it all come from your own imagination?

For The Séance, I researched spells, Wicca, and online psychic networks. For The Fifth Circle, I researched mental illness and the criminal justice system.

What’s the funniest/weirdest thing you’ve done when doing research for your book?

I’ve asked friends and co-workers bizarrely intrusive questions in the name of research.

Do you ever base your characters on people you know?

I try very hard not to. I tend to borrow names, though. In my first book, I ended up naming a main character after my best friend without making a conscious decision to do so. I’ve also snagged names from co-workers, television, etc. I guess I’m not very inventive when it comes to naming characters. Of course, three out of four of my kids are named after family members, so I guess I wasn’t very inventive in naming them either.

Do you make a plan for your novels, or do you just start writing and see where it goes?

I wing it. I usually come up with a character who intrigues me and begin writing. Sometimes an entire novel evolves from that. Sometimes I end up with an unfinished project and no idea what to do with it.

Which of your own books/ characters is your favourite and why?

That’s a tough one. I think I’ll always have a special place in my heart for my first book, The Claiming Words. I’ve written four books in that series, so I’m very attached to those characters.

 What has been the most helpful piece of advice you’ve received as a writer?

“The best editor is time.” I’ve heard numerous times that authors should put a newly finished manuscript aside for weeks or even months. When I wrote my first book, I didn’t listen to that advice and ended up driving myself crazy with edits and rewrites. With The Fifth Circle and The Séance, I let the first draft sit for six months before trying to edit. It really does help you gain fresh perspective on the book once you’re emotionally removed from it a bit. And, you catch mistakes you otherwise wouldn’t have caught if you try to read it immediately after finishing the initial draft.

Note from Lily: this is very wise, Tricia, I agree that ‘putting your work in a drawer’ for a while makes a huge difference.

What books or other projects do you have coming up in future?

I’m working on my NaNoWriMo novel which is a young adult romance. I’m also working on a sequel to The Séance.

Is there anything you’d like to say to your readers?

I would like to thank everyone who has read my books. It means the world to me that other people have read and enjoyed the books as much as I enjoyed writing them.

Links:

Website & Blog: http://www.triciadrammeh.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tricia-Drammeh-Author/453408644723825

Twitter: @triciadrammeh

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tricia-Drammeh/e/B008UI2CE6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6453547.Tricia_Drammeh

9 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Interview with Tricia Drammeh

    • Thank you Tricia! And thanks for offering to interview me on your blog, when I get sorted I’ll be delighted to appear there!

  1. I totally enjoyed the interview, especially the part when Tricia speaks about the dialectic game of characters and how she usually finds inspiration…

    Thanks for sharing; Aquileana 😉

Leave a Reply

