Five Ways to Wellbeing- Connect- with Meetup.com

A great way to connect with others is Meetup.com.

‘Use the internet to get off the internet — and grow local communities.’

That is not their official tagline, but it’s a good one. I am a member of 4 local groups and have met some lovely people there.

Meetup is a 9/11 baby- the horrific tragedy brought people together and now Meetup.com helps people worldwide to connect with their neighbours.

Here is a great article by the founder of Meetup, Scott Heiferman. *** be aware, there are references to 9/11 in this article, not gruesome but may be triggering***

http://blog.meetup.com/911-us/

Quotes from Scott: “Most people thought it was a crazy idea — especially because terrorism is designed to make people distrust one another.  (But I gathered my friends and) a small team came together, and we launched Meetup 9 months after 9/11.

Today, almost 10 years and 10 million Meetuppers later, it’s working. Every day, thousands of Meetups happen. Moms Meetups, Small Business Meetups, Fitness Meetups… a wild variety of 100,000 Meetup Groups with not much in common — except one thing.

Every Meetup starts with people simply saying hello to neighbors. And what often happens next is still amazing to me. They grow businesses and bands together, they teach and motivate each other, they babysit each other’s kids and find other ways to work together. They have fun and find solace together. They make friends and form powerful community. It’s powerful stuff.

It’s a wonderful revolution in local community, and it’s thanks to everyone who shows up.

Meetups aren’t about 9/11, but they may not be happening if it weren’t for 9/11. We’re building new community together!!!!

The towers fell, but we rise up. And we’re just getting started with these Meetups.”

http://blog.meetup.com/911-us/

Go along to http://www.meetup.com, find your local groups and choose one you like the look of. You don’t have to commit to anything you don’t want to, it’s pretty informal. Connect with others, find out what you have in common, be happy 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Five Ways to Wellbeing- Connect- with Meetup.com

  1. I have used this here in Madrid. I stumbled upon it by chance last year, and included my experiences with these groups as part of some of my ex-pat posts. I will admit Meetup.com has been a useful tool. I managed to meet some great people, who became my good friends through meet up groups. Although these meetings can be trial and error (some people use them purely as an opportunity to ‘pick up’ a woman or man), they can prove useful, and fun! Thanks for posting, Bex

    • Its great isn’t it? A good idea.
      Yes, I know what you mean, you have to be a bit wary, but most people I’ve met have been genuine. I don’t go to meetups held at private houses, for example. If you complain to the organiser or Meetup itself, any dodgy people soon get dealt with.
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • Yes, it is. I’ve never heard of any meetups held in private residences, very odd, and something I would definitely avoid! Yeah, I had to complain once, otherwise, I tend to pick up on the under-tone and then don’t return 🙂

      • The ones held in people’s houses tend to be book groups, I only go to the ones held in pubs/ cafes. I suppose the ones in houses are people who have known each other for a long time.

      • Yes, definitely as you never know who you might meet. I think caution is always good to apply, especially in these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

