Five Ways to Wellbeing- Connect- 40 things we forget to thank our friends for

From here: http://www.marcandangel.com/2014/08/06/40-things-we-forget-to-thank-our-best-friends-for/#more-771

40 Things We Forget To Thank Our Best Friends For

40 Things We Forget To Thank Our Best Friends For

I don’t need a certain number of friends,
just a number of friends I can be certain of.

Some of my best friends are family, some I’ve known since I was a kid, and others are newer friendships that continue to grow stronger by the day.  Although they are all very different, every one of them is extraordinary.  I wouldn’t be who I am today without these people in my life.  And despite the fact that I know this, I often take my best friends for granted.  I forget to thank them, for almost everything.  So here’s my attempt at setting the record straight:

  1. “Thank you for making so many ordinary moments, extraordinary.” – Yes, sometimes the most ordinary things can be made extraordinary, just by doing them with the right people.
  2. “Thank you for always giving me the extra push I need.” – A best friend is someone who will inspire you to be who you always knew you could be.  Keep this in mind.  Anyone who helps you make your half-hearted attempts more whole-hearted through kindness, commitment and teamwork, is a keeper.
  3. “Thank you for telling me the truth.” – Remember, being honest might not always get you a lot of friends, but it will always get you the right ones.  Too many of us prefer gentle lies to hard truths.  But make no mistake, in the end it’s better to be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie.  Best friends tell each other the truth, always.
  4. “Thank you for talking things out with me.” – Lots of problems in the world would disappear if we talked to each other instead of about each other.  So always communicate clearly with those closest to you, even when it’s uncomfortable and uneasy.
  5. “Thank you for meeting me halfway.” – Best friends ultimately meet in the middle.  When there’s a disagreement, they work out a solution that works for both parties – a compromise, rather than a need for the other person to change or completely give in.
  6. “Thank you for not getting in the way of the other important parts of my life.” – A healthy relationship will never require you to sacrifice your happiness, your other important relationships, your dreams, or your dignity.
  7. “Thank you for being compassionate.” – Let their kindness and compassion remind you to pay it forward.  Always give those around you the “break” that you hope the world will give you on your own “bad day” and you will never, ever regret it.

Read more here: http://www.marcandangel.com/2014/08/06/40-things-we-forget-to-thank-our-best-friends-for/#more-771

3 thoughts on “Five Ways to Wellbeing- Connect- 40 things we forget to thank our friends for

  1. Pingback: Connect- 40 things we forget to thank our friends for | ronsewell

Leave a Reply

