Guest post by Bronwyn Heeley- All About Bronwyn

Welcome Bronwyn to my blog today in my run up to the launch of The Minder! 

Click to share on Twitter and Facebook

Bronwyn avatarHi everyone I’m Bronwyn and though I wanted to talk about my struggles with writing a thriller like romance for valentine’s day, I honestly couldn’t get anything out of my head and onto the page. The story freaks me out, the idea is awesome, and I’m just not ready to think about it, yet.

So instead, Catherine was nice enough to give me some question to answer, maybe let you know me better as a whole rather than by one project

  1. What first prompted you to start writing?

This is a well known story. Okay so maybe not well known, but I always struggled with reading so I never did it. Honestly I just waited, of it was good it would be made into a movie.

Anyway, long story short – which is only something I can truly do in books—I had kids, and when I was pregnant with my second my first was getting into his 2’s and I needed to stop watching Criminal Minds and NCIS around him.

Basically I needed a hobby.

This was around the time Harry Potter 4 came out at the movies, and I hated it, the movie, and tho I had tried to read it before, I struggled, but with the crap I watched I decided to push on through and ended up reading the whole series. Which then brought me to needing more to read.

The next series I picked up was Twilight and from the first chapter something in my head clicked, “I could do that” and walla. The short version.

  1. Do you have a writing ‘routine’, or do you just fit it in around your daily life?

Yes and no. even though I see myself as an author I’m really probably still a stay-at-home-mum. I rely on my money from that side of my real life than this side.

But a routine…

I like to say I’m going to write all the time, or through the day when my kids are at school, but I don’t, I’m easily distracted and generally don’t like sitting down and writing. So my routine, when I stick to it, stays more along the lines of reading through the day and writing at night, because at night I can’t be loud or have music blaring or just arse around. I have to be quite and sit still, which works, as I’ll spend hours waiting for my mind to click off telling myself to just write it out

But then I can get obsessed and I’ll write day and night until the book is finished. It doesn’t happen often enough for my liking but when it does….

  1. Where do you usually write

In the house we live in now, I write at the computer desk that’s in the lounge room, I really like it, I can watch TV, I can be there with my kids, in the same room. I really like it – but then that could just be the house itself.

  1. Do you plot your story before you start to write, or do you start and see where it takes you?

A little of both. I tend to know where it’s heading but nothing else. I find that if I know too much about the book I don’t feel I need to write it. I’m trying hard to get myself out of that mindset.

  1. Which writers do you enjoy reading?

Hm… lots of them, lol – my Goodreads top 10 MM romance authors are: Sean Michael, Carol Lynne, Amber Kell, Charlie Richards, Kim Dare, RJ Scott, Josh Lanyon, Sandrine Gasq-Dion, Derek Adams, jet Mykles

  1. Do you ever base your characters on people you know?

mmmm….. generally no, tho I have taken one of my mates very strong personality traits and used it once. It was a sweet quality he got teased about chronically.

  1. Which of your own books is your favourite?

Love Without Knowing It. hands down the best thing I wrote, to date.

  1. Do you have to do a lot of research or does it all come from your imagination?

It all comes from my imagination tho I will then make it more by researching everything that needs to be researched.

  1. What has been the most helpful piece of advice you’ve received as a writer?

Research

Don’t put all your eggs in one basket.

Research the shit outta everything

  1. Is there anyone who really inspires you as a writer?

I’m sure there probably is, but I can’t think of anyone now. Just in general, people will inspire me to write better, to create better or to just write something to see if I can pull it off. I really like to push myself, at the moment Sean Michael has inspired me to write a story with no tag dialog. Which I am.

Leave a Reply

