Book recommendation- Write your Novel from the Middle

Write your Novel from the Middle by James Scott Bell was recommended on an editor’s blog, sadly I can’t remember which one!

The title immediately intrigued me-why on earth would I write my novel from the middle? It sounds ludicrous-I’m a hardened devotee of the Save the Cat and Snowflake methods. Both those are excellent, but finding new approaches is always good.

When I began reading the book, I was hooked. James Scott Bell suggests that all stories, whether they are character or plot driven, hinge on a middle moment which sums up the main character’s decision to take one course of action or the other.

This is a very basic summary- there is a lot more to it than that, but I highly recommend this book to authors whether they are starting out or more experienced. It certainly made me take a long hard look at my next story in progress and think how I could write it differently.

Here are the buy links for the Amazon sites:

US   http://amzn.to/1jpvrSv

UK  http://amzn.to/1Vihh6F

 

Leave a Reply

