Interviewed about my books at Our Queer Art

CATHERINE L BYRNE

From here: http://ourqueerart.com/catherine-l-byrne/

catherine-l-byrne-header

What is your name?
Catherine L Byrne. It is a mixture between my real name and my old pen name. I thought having one name for everything would be better than a different name for different genres.

What kind of work do you create?
Fiction novels. I like to write character driven stories rather than plot driven, about people who want to be together but can’t for whatever reason. I’ve written stories set in 10th century Britain, contemporary schools, the world of motorbike racing and about characters on the run from the bad guys.

What do you define yourself as? Or do you not? Why/Why not?
I’m a writer. I’ve written non-fiction as well as fiction and edited both fiction and non-fiction so I’m quite versatile. I read that ‘author’ is someone highly involved in the business of publicising, marketing, promoting so I’m not that.

How long have you been practicing?
Since I was about 12 (so for 30 years now)! I’ve written stories for as long as I can remember but my first one was published in 2010. It was a cautionary tale about a teacher having an affair with a student.

What interests you about your medium or why do you use this medium?
I have just always liked writing. It’s not a logical thing, I just have to write or go mad with all the characters talking in my head telling me their stories. Most writers will say the same.

Read more here! http://ourqueerart.com/catherine-l-byrne/

4 thoughts on “Interviewed about my books at Our Queer Art

  1. Loved the interview Catherine! I, too, write character-driven stories and novels; can’t imagine doing it any other way. Outlining and plotting never fail to get me muttering to myself.

    All the best to you in your writing and, when that is done, to painting and drawing.

Leave a Reply

