This Week I Shall Be Talking About- Helping People. 1. How can you help?

LoveHelping people is a subject close to my heart. I am not a money obsessed person-maybe I should be more so to ensure a stable financial future for my family but I’m just not.

What is the best way to help people? At one end of the spectrum, it could be day to day activities such as making others you meet locally feel happy and comfortable e.g. smiling and chatting to those who seem lonely, being polite in queues and shops, generally behaving in a friendly manner. If we were ALL kinder to each other, the world would be a much happier place.

At the other end of the scale would be going to help in disaster zones, or if you earn a lot, spending a large part of your money setting up charities to help certain sections of the population. Or training as a doctor/ nurse/ counsellor/ other help worker.

I always wanted to train as a Careers Adviser, but I would have to get a job as a Careers Adviser before I can take a qualification in that area. Without a qualification, I can’t get a job, but without a job I can’t take a qualification. Crazy.

So I am now looking into working as either a Counsellor or a Life Coach, because I can study initially for those roles at home. I intend to take a taster course in each of those areas to see which I’m better at doing. I worked for 10 years in education with teenagers who had learning, emotional, behavioural and physical difficulties- I loved it but it left me drained as a wet rag and I can’t go back. I worked in animal and children’s charities, and on various advice lines. Now I’m looking for another way to help others. I can’t seem to avoid my destiny.

Leave a Reply

